About East Anglia

Apart from sharing similar countryside and forests, Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and Essex also share the communal history of East Anglia.

The name East Anglia came from one of the ancient Anglo-Saxon kingdoms, the kingdom of the East Angles. This kingdom consisted of Norfolk (the North People) and Suffolk (the South People).

The regions boundaries were fairly vague, Thetford Forest being on the border between the two. The area is noted for fens, reclaimed marshlands, and particularly throughout Suffolk

Why visit East Anglia?

Situation in the heart of East Anglia on the border of Norfolk and Suffolk surrounded with open countryside and small market towns and villages


  • Eye – Unspoilt small town with spectacular church and individual shops and cafés Southwold – A popular town by the sea.
  • Framlingham – A market town with shops, restaurants and cafés. One of the beautiful 12th century curtain-walled castle.
  • Dunwich and Minsmere – Wildlife reserves
  • More info http://www.suffolktouristguide.com/Things-to-do-in-Suffolk.asp


  • Diss – A market town with shops, restaurants and cafés.
  • Norwich – The wonderful Cathedral, castle and national retail and tourist destination.
  • North Norfolk – The town of Burnham Market and Burnham Thorpe, the latter being the Birthplace of Lord Horatio Nelson
  • More info http://www.visitnorfolk.co.uk

Whatever the reason for your visit, East Anglia is sure to offer something for everyone!

Comments are closed.